It’s Not Always Straightforward Being Mixed Race.

I found this to be an interesting article. It’s interesting to see how the non-working classes struggle to understand, and even fathom, the idea of racial mixing. See the article here.
I’ve deduced the class based on the situations mentioned, having an understanding of British classes. My opinion is open to debate and question.

It wasn’t until I was in my late teens that I started to see society’s different perceptions of mixed race people. I noticed that, generally, I was mixed race to the working classes of the UK but considered black by the middle and upper classes. Seeing that it is the middle and upper classes that effect our social systems, I learned that the system had to be approached and addressed differently, depending on the situation at hand.

Mixed Race people are the social gymnasts of this era!

One thought on “It’s Not Always Straightforward Being Mixed Race.

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

