Three Pet Peeves…!

I think of my pet peeves and I’m reminded that I have a Jamaican temperament that runs through my blood, along with British acceptance and a character forged by the Love flowing through both attributes (Not as deep as it sounds, believe me! LOL!). I’ll tolerate and allow things to happen and then, at the last moment, erupt into a shockwave of JamGlish (Jamaican English mashup. I should copy write the term!), before quietly settling down to talk things through. Something I’m working on but something nevertheless.
I guess a brief point to make is that of always communicating how you feel about something/someone/something someone is doing. When you feel a way about something, the old adage, “A problem aired is a problem shared”, can be one of the best things to experience. Weight off the shoulders and, maybe, the presence of a solution.
When dealing with someone, I find the approach presented in Matthew 18:15-17 the best way forwards. It reads, “(15)Moreover, if they brother shall trespass against thee, go and tell him his fault between thee and him alone: if he shall hear thee, thou hast gained they brother. (16)But if he will not hear thee, then take with thee one or two more, that in the mouth of two or three witnesses, every word may be established. (17)And if he shall neglect to hear them, tell it unto the church: but if he neglect to hear the church, let him be unto thee as an heathen man and a publican.”

This leads me to my first pet peeve…

  1. Snakes. By snakes, I don’t mean your average Anaconda and Cobra. Although, I seem to have a way of wanting to avoid them too! I’m talking about snakes of the backbiting kind.
    Here, it’s important to point out that there is a difference between a gossip and a snake. Gossips can’t help themselves. They HAVE to relay information that they come across. Creatures I’m wary of but with this species, you simply keep yourself private and them at arms length, with a smile. Social media is a good example of a good gossip! Keep your business private and those you don’t know at arm’s length, with smiling selfies, understanding that, what you air ceases to be your own business.
    The Snake species is much more dangerous. There is motive, something for them to personally gain. They sneak in dark corners, approaching the ‘right’ people, planting the ‘right’ information. We see them, though… *raises feet, sips tea*
    They say beating the grass helps to rid your environment of snakes. My own belief is that you should just bring out the lawnmower, fill it with high-octane fuel and rev on the red line! But that just isn’t Matthew 18:15-17, is it? *sighs* I wish living to a standard was so much easier!
  2. Receiving voluminous messages that could have been condensed to one. It is O-K to utilize the idea of paragraphs when texting/messaging an individual. It bugs me, DEEPLY, when I pick up my phone and see 10 missed messages, swipe the screen and see one message broken into 10 separate messages. Has this age of technology convinced us that we HAVE to communicate everything in ‘Snaps’?! As though no sentence can exceed 60 characters! STOP IT! #rantover (Did anyone see what I did there?! LOL!)
  3.  Stupid. I’ll have to give an example to explain this one.
    A while back, during winter (Oh, hold on. I forgot. We’re in April but winter is still here!) I saw a few black guys debating with two police officers. They felt that they were being questioned because they were black. Clearly, they were suffering from my pet peeve of ‘stupid’. At the end of the day, young roadman, if you’re one of several guys (I didn’t count), sitting in a Toyota Camry that has seen much better days, with the attempted bass line (as I said, the car was old!) of Young Thug wafting weed smoke out the window, you HAVE to expect that, in the dark hours (Or any hour, really.), you will be accompanied by the boys in blue, asking you to get out the car.
    I believe the medical term is ‘Letsjustbestupiditis’. Severe inflammation of one’s ability to think, wrapped in a membrane of stupid. Or something like that anyway!
Author: Darren Robinson

I'm extremely opinionated and have lead somewhat of a colourful life, that I'd like to share with others. I believe that sharing our experiences and thoughts can help others no end, as we live this life of social media that has caused us to become islands, often suffering in silence, while we put on the front of the good life. I'm also an avid sportsman, track athlete and am headed towards a purpose of teaching the Word of God. Always something to say, always something to share, always eager to hear from others.

2 thoughts on “Three Pet Peeves…!”

Leave a Reply

