I’m Not Destined To Be Wealthy… But I’m Happy!

Proverbs 13:22 begins, “A good man leaveth an inheritance to his children’s children…”

I don’t agree with everything Dr. Umar Johnson says but, recently, I watched a video and he said something that was so profound, it brought me to a realization that I have finally come to terms with:

I will, in this life, never experience wealth.
I wrestled with this for so long but the thing he said that is so right, “Wealth is generational…”, has tilted the balance and I’m finally on board – and HAPPY!

Those of the working class, and particularly black people (You can get mad if you want. But it is what it is.), fail to see that the best thing we can do is set up a life, not just for our children, but for our grandchildren. It’s amazing, how we have been conned into believing that we should be chasing wealth for this life. The reality is, for me to begin a line of wealthy and wealth-conscious (Not money-chasing!) children, the furthest I’ll most likely reach is to die debt-free, have some money invested, have a good life insurance and own my own home. I’m currently in the process of starting my own business too.

Being in this position, at the point of my death, means my children start from ground-zero. They have inherited zero debt (Save the possibility of the managed debt of a mortgage), have a little investment, that will continue to grow through their lifetime but, most importantly, if they see me happy in what I’m doing, they learn and understand that it is OK to be content with what you have. It’s OK to build with patience. It’s OK to let the social life alone for a season. They also learn the importance of relationships and legacy.

The process isn’t the same for everyone but the one thing that unites us is the productive life that ensues the decision to provide for our generations (Plural!) coming after us.
It may be that it isn’t for your generation, but the following generation, to be the one to reach ground zero. Maybe even a generation or two after that but, at some point, there has to be a humbling and a decision for the better.

So, I’m not destined to be materialistically wealthy but the wealth in my relationships and contentment is going to be of an unrivaled magnitude! I’m looking forward to the journey ahead…

2 thoughts on “I’m Not Destined To Be Wealthy… But I’m Happy!

Add yours

  1. Hi there I hope you get this message . I have a son his name is also Darren Robinson yep how weird is that! anyway , I would seriously like you please to checkout r e n e McLean on YouTube , yes he is a teacher/preacher but check out his message on ‘rat race 1 ‘ . please I promise you it will throw some more light on some things. Likd that of being destined for wealth but remember wealth is not just materialism Hotep!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

